Estee Lauder Double Wear | Review

Estee Lauder Double Wear Review

Double Wear Foundation ReviewIf you’re a fan of full coverage foundations, the chances are you’ve either tried Estee Lauder’s Double Wear or you’ve heard hella good things about it and want to try it. Often praised as people’s holy grail full coverage base, Double Wear had been on my foundation ‘to-try’ list for a looooong time, and as my latest bottle of Sheer Glow started to run out I finally decided to pick it up.

Double Wear promises flawless coverage that will stand against heat and humidity to deliver 15 hours of staying power. While it won’t smudge, fade or oxidise, it also claims to be super lightweight and comfortable on the skin, too. There’s an impressive 29 shades to choose from in the Double Wear range, and I was matched via Findation (read more about that magic little tool here) and then in store to 2N1 Desert Beige.

The packaging is the heavy glass that you expect from higher-end foundations, and has nice gold detailing and a gold lid. Now onto my major criticism, which if you read my NARS Sheer Glow review might not come as a huge surprise to you – NO PUMP.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Beauty Blog ReviewWhen oh WHEN will premium brands stop being such absolute tight arses and just include a bloody pump? I mean,  look at that hot mess of a bottle rim there. Gross. As with Sheer Glow (before I caved in and bought the extra pump – swine…), the lack of pump makes this really difficult to distribute and I often end up under- or over-pouring. It’s a nuisance, I tell ya.

When I first tried it out, the pump situation really annoyed me so Double Wear and I weren’t off to the best start anyway. Then I then started to apply the foundation using my usual buffing brush and I just couldn’t seem to get it to blend into my skin properly. I struggled to get the full coverage that DW is famous for, and for the first few days I was pretty unimpressed.

Then I decided to try a different application technique, and instead stippled the foundation into my skin, and VOILA. The full coverage that I had heard so much about was a reality. I couldn’t believe that something as simple as the application could make such a difference, but suddenly I fully understood the hype that Double Wear attracts. The coverage is flawless, and the staying power really IS impressive. I use a setting spray most days, but even when I’ve forgotten to do that I’ve managed to get through a whole day of work with only the tiniest bit of shine coming through on my t-zone.

One thing I will say is that the heavy coverage can leave your skin  looking a little ‘flat’ and it does take some contouring and highlighting to add the definition back to your face (or create it, in my case – I naturally have the definition of a potato). Because of this, Double Wear probably won’t be right for those people who like to get away with a light base and quite fuss-free makeup. However, if you’re like me and are seeking full coverage and a flawless base, then I’m sure you’ll be a fan.

Estee Lauder Double Wear 2N1 Desert BeigeEstee Lauder Double Wear is a high-end foundation, and will set you back around £30. However, as with every other high-end foundation that I’ve tried, it is well worth the money. This also has the added benefit of SPF 10, which – while not great for flash photography – is good for our skin and preventing those pesky wrinkles.

While I think I still prefer the slightly dewy finish of NARS Sheer Glow, Double Wear has definitely entered my top 5 foundations and I really recommend it. Even though I am forever angry about the pump… *shakes fist*.

Have any of you tried Estee Lauder’s Double Wear? Let me know in the comments!

SHARE:

37 Responses

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:20 pm

      It really is one of the only negatives, so if you can get through that you might love it :) xx

      • Lisa March 22, 2016 / 7:40 am

        The MAC foundation pump fits onto the bottle! Made it so much easier! Xx

  1. Shireen L. Platt January 27, 2016 / 4:34 am

    My mum swears by this and kept telling me it’s the best foundation that she has ever used but I dislike it. Its not the foundation’s fault though, I just prefer dewy and light coverage base. And no kidding about the pump, I mean is it that hard to provide your customers with one?

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:21 pm

      Ahh yeah, I can see how it wouldn’t be to your taste! Think it’s definitely one of those love or hate products :) xx

  2. Pam January 27, 2016 / 11:21 am

    ive just bought this and I didnt know how to get it to full coverage, thanks for the tip!
    Pam xo/ Pam Scalfi♥

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:21 pm

      Oh I’m glad it wasn’t just me who struggled at first! Hope that helps then Pam :) xx

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:22 pm

      I KNOW RIGHT, how hard can it be? Sigh. Still, I do recommend giving it a try! xx

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:22 pm

      People do seem to swear by it, and I do understand that now :) xx

  3. Beautylymin January 27, 2016 / 8:52 pm

    I tried a sample of this but it was too matte for me, however I love DW Light! xx

    Beautylymin

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:23 pm

      Ahh I just love a matte coverage sometimes, but can see why it wouldn’t be your thing! DW Light sounds like it could be perfect for me in the summer :) xx

  4. Natalie Alice Zigdon January 28, 2016 / 8:16 am

    I’ve been seeing advertisements about his foundation literally as far as the eye can see! It looks gorgeous on you but its a shame the finish isn’t more dewy

    Allie | RainyAllie

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:24 pm

      It is a shame for people that love thagt dewy look, though mixing with a bit of liquid highlighter could solve that :) xx

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:24 pm

      Thank you! xx

  5. emmajane January 28, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    I’ve heard mixed reviews on this foundation but it looks fabulous on you! x

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:24 pm

      Thanks doll, I’m definitely a fan but can see why some people wouldn’t be! xx

  6. Hannah January 28, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    I’m more of a fan of a lighter dewier finish but I have to say this does look great on you! Shame about packaging though, it’s so annoying when there isn’t a pump! xx

    ohhelloitshannah.blogspot.co.uk

    • Claire January 28, 2016 / 9:25 pm

      I know, it’s such a little thing but really makes a difference! xx

  7. Trang Do January 29, 2016 / 7:11 am

    Great review! Sounds like perfect!
    Xoxo,
    Love from http://www.trangscorner.com {a lifestyle, fashion, beauty, and food blog}

    • Claire February 3, 2016 / 11:23 am

      It is pretty brilliant :) xx

  8. Jen January 29, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    I’ve tried Double Wear and, while I’m a fan of fuller coverage foundations, I actually prefer Revlon ColourStay foundation- half the price and really good stuff! Have a good weekend :)

    http://www.vibrantbeautyblog.com

    • Claire February 3, 2016 / 11:23 am

      Ahh I haven’t tried that one – will have to check it out, thanks for the tip :) xx

  9. jenny January 30, 2016 / 9:15 pm

    Loving the sound of this foundation and I’ve had it recommended to me by a couple of people now so really must try! :) I also hate the fact they don’t come with pumps, it’s so annoying! I actually bought two for Nars Sheer Glow and actually forgot I bought them and binned them with the empty foundation bottles ha,ha! I won’t be doing that again in a hurry ;-) x

    Jenny | Krystel Couture

    • Claire February 3, 2016 / 11:26 am

      Haha oh no, I’ll be cherishing my NARS pumps for life! xx

  10. Christina January 31, 2016 / 6:38 am

    Really interesting review! I’m a huge fan of full coverage so I should probably try this one out – having no pump is so annoying though!! I currently go with Lancôme’s Teint Idole…

    Christina ♥ https://caliope-couture.com

    • Claire February 3, 2016 / 11:26 am

      Ah I love Lancome’s Teint Idole too! So sounds like we have similar taste, and you would definitely be a fan of Double Wear :) xx

    • Claire February 21, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      Thanks for reading :) xx

  11. Hayley Nicol February 1, 2016 / 12:22 pm

    I have just bought this recently too and it is the best foundation I have ever used!! It looked horrendous with a brush so I used a real techniques sponge and it works a treat! But why no pump, drives me insane!!

    • Claire February 21, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      I need to replace my sponge as I reckon it would apply even better for me too! xx

  12. Jasmine February 1, 2016 / 8:51 pm

    I love this foundation – it’s just my perfect night out base :) the lack of pump is pretty annoying. The MAC pump fits this bottle so you could try that (though it’s stupid to have to buy one separately, if you have one spare you might as well!) I agree the finish is so shine-free and long-lasting :) xx

    Jasmine Talks Beauty

    • Claire February 21, 2016 / 2:40 pm

      Glad I’m not the only one annoyed by the pump! But it’s so good it gets away with it haha xx

  13. LadyPlanner_x February 8, 2016 / 12:59 pm

    This is my holy grail just for the fact it stays put all day! Too many foundations have I purchased that look lovely in the morning but by lunchtime I have the shiney forehead of a marathon runner – or the dreaded patchwork quilt look !!!

    One thing I would say about this foundation is that you really, REALLY need to take the time to apply it properly! I apply it with a brush and then pat it into place with a make up sponge. If you don’t put it on properly it will look terrible (and will stay looking terrible until you take it off)!!

    BUT if you spend the time putting it on properly it will still look the same by the end of the day – and it’s totally worth it!!

    Ladyplanner_x

    Xx

    • Claire February 10, 2016 / 10:36 pm

      I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one who struggled with the application at first (and even more glad that I found the right way to apply it!) xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>