Jerome Russell BBlonde Silver Toner | Review

BBlonde Silver Toner Review

BBlondeSilver TonerAttention to all of my fellow granny-haired wizard-babes! I have finally found it – the best silver toner out there. My quest has been long, and in some cases dangerous, but I can now confirm that the BBlonde Silver Toner is hands down the best toner for grey/silver hair that I’ve tried.

To give you all a brief history of my affair with various white and silver toners, I’ve tried most toner brands on the market including Bleach London (review here), La Riche Directions in white (review here) and silver, and Crazy Colour. All of these were okay, but still left yellow tones in my hair. My 2 wonder products for a while were Fanci-full Rinse in Silver Lining and the Mellor & Russell Simply Bright silver hair dye (review here). Both of these sent my hair a gorgeous, even colour (with the Fancifull rinse being more of a steely grey than the pale silver achieved with Simply Bright) but had their drawbacks. Namely, Fanci-Full is a wash out rinse and so only lasts til you wash your hair; and Simply Bright is a hair dye as opposed to a toner and so contains peroxide (making it not so great for your already bleached hair).

So I had kind of assumed that a kind-to-hair toner with the strength to give full silver coverage was just something that didn’t exist. Until, that is, I tried out Jerome Russell’s latest offering in the BBlonde range, their Silver Toner*. I’ve loved the BBlonde range for years now, as it’s the bleach that I use to colour my hair at home every time. So I knew I would be in safe hands, but I still wasn’t expecting such good results.

The toner comes in a small 75ml bottle and is a dark purple, as expected. I thought that I would need two bottles as I have 18″ hair extensions sewn in, but once I started to apply I realised that a little really goes a long way. In terms of application, this goes on really nicely – it kind of lathers up, making it easy to massage into the hair and cover each and every strand with ease. I left it on for 30 minutes and HERE are the non-filtered results:

BBlonde Silver Toner Review 1Colour-wise, it’s pretty much exactly what I achieved with the Mellor and Russell dye, but this has the huge added benefit of no ammonia or peroxide. As it’s a toner it’s only semi-permanent, and the box recommends that it should last around 8 washes. I would say that this begins to fade on my hair after about 3 weeks (so about 6 washes for me), but as that was also the rate I would re-dye my hair with the Mellor and Russell product, I really don’t see this as a problem.

The Bblonde Silver Toner can be bought from either Boots or Superdrug for £4.49. I would like to make the point that although one bottle of this was gifted to me for review by the Bblonde team, I have re-purchased with my own money and will continue to do so. It REALLY is da bomb, ladies and gents.

Have any of you tried this product? What do you think of the silver hair trend?

28 Responses

    • Claire July 5, 2015 / 6:16 pm

      Aw thank you Ella! xx

  1. Georgia July 5, 2015 / 1:31 pm

    This turned out amazing on your hair, I’m so jealous! I wanted to dye mine a silvery colour but I was too terrified that it would come out grey instead so I’m going for a light blonde instead! This looks so good on you though!

    http://whiteshirtchic.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Claire July 5, 2015 / 6:16 pm

      Ahh well I don’t mind a bit of grey myself, but if you were after silver then I would say this would definitely work! And as it washes out after a few weeks anyway, you could always give it a try and then if you don’t like it there’s no lasting damage :) xx

    • Chloe July 24, 2015 / 11:42 am

      Did you apply it on wet hair or dry hair? Want this colour!!

      • Claire July 24, 2015 / 9:41 pm

        I washed it then towel-dried it so it was still damp when applied :) xx

  2. Carina G. July 5, 2015 / 6:06 pm

    Your hair just looks gorgeous !
    xoxo,

    atwednesdaysiwearpink.blogspot.com

  3. Tanya July 6, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    I like it!

    the-renaissance-of-inner-fashion.blogspot.co.uk

  4. The CSI girls July 7, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    This look amazing. Will definitely be purchasing this tonight. The colour really suits you.

    M xx

    The CSI Girls

    • Claire July 12, 2015 / 3:37 pm

      Thank you! Would love to hear how you get on with it :) xx

  5. Aaliyah August 23, 2015 / 9:39 am

    Can I ask where you bought the fanciful silver lining mousse in the UK? Or did you have to buy it online? :) x

    • Claire August 23, 2015 / 9:38 pm

      I bought the mousse from eBay, but I’ve bought the rinse before from Sallys so some of those might stock the mousse too :) xx

  6. Amy December 15, 2015 / 11:17 pm

    Hello! I love your hair it’s a gorgeous colour and I just picked up a bottle of the stuff myself but I just wondered what colour your hair was before you used the product? Whether it was bleached or yellowy or whatever as I’m worried the colour won’t show up as well on my hair? Thank you xx

    • Claire December 20, 2015 / 2:03 pm

      Thanks lovely! My hair was bleached before, and so a very pale yellow (as I’m a light, mousey brown naturally so my hair does lift quite easily). I would say that hair needs to be as light as possible :) xx

  7. Alyssa December 17, 2015 / 3:04 am

    Hey, Hun! I am loving your silver hair! I’m currently at the brassy / silver / mess at the moment and was wondering if this was better than the silver twice a week provoke shampoo? I’ve used the mellor and Russell dye but it didn’t quite do it enough for me.
    Thanks xxx

    • Claire December 20, 2015 / 2:04 pm

      Thanks Alyssa! YES this will definitely take the brassy tones out, I’m left with no yellow at all after this :) I used this and then still use the Pro:voke range to maintain it in between toning sessions xx

      • Beth December 30, 2015 / 10:57 am

        Hi Claire,
        Hair looks fab!
        I use the Jerome Russell bleaching kit and initially goes yellow as I am naturally quite dark so I use a Pre:voke too. Had to take a few goes though. Does this toner wear off? Also is there a pink? Feel like living dangerously? ;)
        X Beth X

        D

  8. Kimberley December 19, 2015 / 12:22 pm

    What colour was your hair before you put on the silver I have baought a live max blonde to put on before the silver as im brunette x

    • Claire December 20, 2015 / 2:05 pm

      My hair was bleached before putting this on, and so a very pale yellow. I’m naturally mousey so my hair does lift quite well with bleach – I’d say try to get it as light as possible before trying this :) xx

  9. Natasha April 7, 2016 / 7:00 pm

    Hello!

    Love the hair – have been reading your reviews on this and Mellor & Russell and trying to decide between the two. I’ve just had my hair toned to silver professionally but am looking for a way to do it myself to keep stubborn brassy bits at bay! Reading your reviews this one seems like your favourite but on the photo your hair looks kind of purple/lilac whereas the Mellor & Russell one looked more silver. Is that the case or is it just the photos? Since you do say you achieved pretty much the same results with this as you did with the M&R dye!

    Thank you!

  10. Jenny April 21, 2016 / 9:08 am

    Hi Claire
    Your hair looks gorgeous- I had mine stripped, bleached and toner couple of weeks ago to a lovely grey/lilac shade however it’s now almost out so I have purchased the silver and the lilac toner can’t wait to try these- I will be using these in between visits to the hairdressers- I wish you could buy a permanent grey hair dye!! Xx

  11. Amanda August 20, 2016 / 10:57 pm

    Hi, how did you use it please? I tried it and it did literally nothing, did you have to mix it with developer or anything?
    I followed the instructions exactly and left it on the full 30 mins. Very disappointed to be honest.

  12. Lynn MacDonald November 30, 2016 / 12:56 pm

    My hair was red used a stripper and then Jerome russsel bleach followed by this toner . IT WORKS BEAUTIFULLY. So pleased with the results. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

    • Claire December 21, 2016 / 1:57 pm

      Glad it worked so well for you Lynn – it’s still a favourite of mine :) xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>