Quick, Tousled Curls with Mark Hill’s Wicked Waver | Review

Mark Hill Wicked Waver TutorialConsidering that my hair is one of my favourite features, it’s a sad but true fact that I’m awful at actually doing anything with it. My cackhanded-ness, combined with the fact that there is just so much of it, mean more often than not I tend to wear it down (I mean, you try getting all of this hair into a bun – it becomes so massive that I genuinely worry that things are doing to start orbiting around it). Because of this, any styling tool that I use has to be straightforward and provide pretty results quickly so that I can get to work on time. The latest tool in my collection is the Mark Hill Wicked Waver*, which promises ‘effortlessly tousled curls in seconds’.

I’ve been a big fan of Mark Hill for years now, and so knew I was in good hands when choosing a new product. What appealed to me about the Wicked Waver was the innovative ‘bubble’ style of the barrell, which guarantees that no two curls are ever the same. I’m really not a fan of uniform, ringlet-style curls and so the promise of slightly messy, relaxed waves sounded perfect to me. So, how did I find it?

Mark Hill Wicked Waver Review

Mark Hill Wicked Waver Blog

Mark Hill New Wicked Waver Curler

Mark Hill New Wicked Waver Curling TongMy first impressions were obviously that the Wicked Waver is really pretty to look at. I think this used to be called the Bad Girl Glam Wicked Waver, which had the trademark Mark Hill animal-print design. Obviously I’m never hating on animal print (and my leopard print Mark Hill hairdryer is one of my favourite. Things. Ever.) but this new version’s slightly more grown-up look adds a really professional edge.

The wand itself is easy to use, with a simple on/off switch and maneuverable cord so you can’t get tangled up. It also comes with 2 half-hand protective gloves for when you’re wrapping hair around the wand, which is so useful considering the barrel reaches a salon-hot 200 degrees.

When it comes to curling your hair with the Wicked Waver, there are so many different options that you can play with. Wrapping small small sections of hair around the thinner parts of the wand will create tight, chopstick curls, while focusing on the wider parts of the barrel will give you a larger, looser curl. Mixing and matching creates a relaxed, beachy look.

Mark Hill Waving Wand ReviewGrey Wavy Hair Overall I love the results of the wand, and also love how I managed to do all of my hair in around 10 minutes. The ceramic coating on the wand leaves hair feeling smooth, while the hot temperatures mean that the curl holds really well. When it came to going to bed, I twisted my hair and wrapped it into a bit of a messy bun overnight, and in the morning my waves were all still in place.

The Mark Hill Wicked Waver retails for £29.99, which I think is great for such a high-quality product, and it can be bought for even less from Boots (£24.99).

Have any of you tried this, or any of Mark Hill’s other products? Let me know in the comments!

SHARE:

40 Responses

  1. Jodie January 5, 2016 / 8:05 pm

    Wow this sounds great! The curls look so much nicer than when I just use my straighteners!

    Jodie @ Jodetopia x

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:18 pm

      I am SO BAD at curling my hair with straighteners, how do you manage it?! xx

  2. Samantha January 5, 2016 / 9:18 pm

    I personally love loose curls/wavy hair & this looks stunning on you.
    May have to “accidentally” add this to my boots wishlist!

    x

    Small&Blonde

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:18 pm

      Do it (I love being an enabler haha)! Thanks for reading 🙂 xx

  3. Beautylymin January 6, 2016 / 7:02 am

    Can’t believe you managed to do all of your hair in 10 minutes! Wow!

    Do you have extensions or is it all your natural hair? It’s very pretty either way! xx

    Beautylymin

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      I was quite surprised too! Think it was because I took quite big chunks for the looser curl, so only separated my hair around 7-8 times really. And yep, I have my extensions sewn in as I only have a ratty little long bob naturally :'( xx

  4. Albertine January 6, 2016 / 9:38 am

    Your hair looks gorgeous in this post! Sounds like a great hair styler 🙂

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:20 pm

      Thanks Albertine 🙂 It really is so good! xx

  5. Pam January 6, 2016 / 10:02 am

    that is sooooo affordable! 😀 I love the result. I’m boring when it comes to my hair too, I definitely want to try different hairstyles this year 😀
    Pam xo/ Pam Scalfi♥

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      I would have expected it to be so much more, especially as I think my Mark Hill hairdryer was about £50 – such a bargai 🙂 xx

  6. Holly January 6, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    Your hair looks so beautiful! I love loose waves and have been meaning to get a new curling wand for a while so you’ve really made me want this 🙂 Love that it comes with a heat protection glove too!
    Love Holly x

    http://www.thehollydays.co.uk

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      I definitely recommend it if you’re on the lookout for one, such a good price too 🙂 xx

  7. Auna January 6, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    Your hair looks lovely! I always love hearing reviews on good styling products. Thanks for sharing!

    xx Auna | http://simplyauna.com

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:22 pm

      Thank you, glad you found it useful! xx

  8. Nereyda @ This Girl Is Obsessed January 6, 2016 / 10:10 pm

    I am super jealous of your hair color! That color takes balls and you definitely pull it off.
    This wand looks nice (even if it looks like a sex toy). I used to use wands and loved them but I recently cut my hair short. Too short to use these 🙁

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      Hahahaha I really had to resist the urge to mention the resemblance..! Thanks so much for your lovely comment, and at least your hair will grow and be curlable in no time 😉 xx

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:23 pm

      Aw thanks Laura 🙂 xx

  9. Sophie Elizabeth January 7, 2016 / 10:29 am

    Your hair is the major goal! That colour is to die for. It looks so beautiful in curls too – I really like how the idea of the wand and that’s really good value! Thanks for recommending xx

    Sophie Elizabeth
    http://www.popcornandglitter.co.uk

    • Claire January 7, 2016 / 7:24 pm

      Aw what a lovely comment – I think my hair does photograph a bit more lilac than it is in real life, but I still just go with it. Thanks for reading 🙂 xx

  10. Marina January 7, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    You really do have great hair! But looking at this tool I just can’t imagine how you use it! :)) Maybe I’m a little slow… I’ve just been using my straightener forever and know nothing of how to use wands, let alone this thing 🙂
    http://www.MarinaSays.com

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:43 pm

      Ahh I’m an idiot for not explaining! Basically the wand heats up and then you simply wrap your hair around it, hold it in place for 5-10 seconds and then let go. So much easier than tongs that involve clamping the hair – I never got on very well with those 🙂 xx

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:43 pm

      Thanks so much 🙂 xx

  11. hannah January 8, 2016 / 12:22 am

    Day know what… I’m going to treat myself to this! I’m fed up of straightening my hair (and then it not staying straight) so I’m gonna try this and see how i get on with it! x

    hannatalks

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:44 pm

      YES gurrrl you’re going to love it! xx

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Thank you Bernadette 🙂 xx

  12. Sora January 8, 2016 / 5:23 am

    I’m obsessed with your hair color! It is so beautiful, and I could only dream about pulling it off.

    Via Sora

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Aw thank you! It takes quite a lot of maintenance and is often a few different colours at once, but worth it in the end I think. Glad you like it xx

  13. Bash Harry January 8, 2016 / 7:30 am

    I love your hair! The wand must be magic! Hahaha, I’d love to try the out but my hair is sooo short, I don’t know if I can use it haha <3

    xx Bash | H E Y   B A S H | bloglovin’

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:46 pm

      I love curls in short hair, I bet you would look great! xx

  14. Natasha January 9, 2016 / 8:44 am

    Great review post. I really love the look of this product, I think I may be the first thing I pop on my 2016 wishlist , although I may need to grow my hair a little before I try to use it 🙂 xx

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:46 pm

      Thanks Natasha, glad you found it useful 🙂 xx

  15. Beth January 9, 2016 / 10:15 am

    I’ve been wondering whether or not to buy this, so I was really happy when I clicked on your blog and found your review! I’m not a fan of uniform ringlets either so I think I’m going to give this a go 🙂 xx

    Toasty

    • Claire January 9, 2016 / 1:46 pm

      Then this will be right up your street – let me know how you get on with it if you try it 🙂 xx

    • Claire January 10, 2016 / 7:10 pm

      Thanks so much lovely – and I agree, great for everyday wear xx

  16. Kailey January 17, 2016 / 9:57 am

    Gah, how gorgeous is your hair?! <3

    • Claire January 17, 2016 / 9:20 pm

      Aw thank you 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *