Benefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter | Review

Benefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter | Vanity ClaireSometimes you hear about a new product and you just know that it’s meant to be, and that your soul and its little product soul are meant to be joined together as one. That’s how I felt when I first heard about Benefit’s Dandelion Shy Beam, a matte liquid highlighter that promises to put a ‘natural looking spotlight’ on your skin. Although I actually haven’t tried many Benefit products (nope, I’m not sure why either), this appealed to me straight away and so I picked up Shy Beam while I was on holiday last month. And I’m very much in love with it.

Benefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter ReviewBenefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter ReviewAlthough I love a good highlight, some of the shimmery ones out there can be a bit much for day-to-day wear. Also, there are some areas of your face that you might want to add definition to, but don’t necessarily want to transform into full on disco-face – and this is where a matte highlighter like Shy Beam comes in. I apply the nude-pink liquid under my eyes, along my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose, on my forehead, chin, cupid’s bow and just above my jawline and it instantly brightens all of these areas in the most gorgeous but subtle way. It’s easy to blend and turns into more of a powder once it’s set.

Benefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter SwatchBenefit Shy Beam Matte Highlighter SwatchObviously if you’re looking for an intense #DATHIGHLIGHTDOE highlighter, then Shy Beam probably isn’t the one for that job. However I still plan to use this for nights out when I want a bolder look, and will just layer a shimmery powder highlight over the top so that you can actually see my cheekbones from space. I mean, that’s the dream, isn’t it?

My one quibble with Shy Beam is the brush applicator – I think I’d rather it was a doe foot for a bit more control and precision. Also, although the packaging is bloody adorable, it would be a bit more handy if I could see how much of the product I have left. ALSO although I love the shade on me, if you’re very pale then I’m not sure how well the colour would work on you. So I suppose that’s three quibbles really, but other than those I honestly LOVE Shy Beam with all of my little frosty heart. If you haven’t tried it yet and would like to then it costs £19.50 and can be bought from the usual suspects including Boots, Debenhams etc.

I definitely want to join the rest of the population and try out more Benefit products now, so please let me know your favourites and recommendations in the comments below! 

30 Responses

    • Claire June 27, 2016 / 1:58 pm

      The rest are definitely on my list now 🙂 xx

  1. Lindsey June 26, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    This looks like a great product – it’s actually pretty minimal in comparison with the Cover FX highlighters (I literally just watched a video all about those and the metallic was out of this world.) Love this one because it’s a lot more natural in comparison… though I agree with you about the brush applicator. Would prefer an eye dropper for hygiene.

    Lindsey Elyse | lindseyginge

    • Claire June 27, 2016 / 1:58 pm

      I do love an extreme highlight so I’ll have to check out the Cover FX ones – but for an every day look this is really pretty 🙂 xx

  2. Jennifer June 26, 2016 / 8:22 pm

    I think I’d really enjoy the subtlety of this to highlight with, especially for layering with something a little more wham bam. I more often than not overlook Benefit products so thanks for sharing!

    http://www.barelytherebeauty.com

    xx

    • Claire June 27, 2016 / 1:59 pm

      I’m the same, but think I’ll definitely pay more attention to the brand from now on 🙂 Thanks for reading! xx

  3. Pam June 27, 2016 / 10:07 am

    this looks pretty but I’m not sure it would be one for me to buy. I already have the original and I hardly ever use it to be honest, I much prefer powder!
    Pam xo/ Pam Scalfi♥

    • Claire June 27, 2016 / 1:59 pm

      Ahh I quite want to to try High Beam now! But the formula probably isn’t for everyone 🙂 xx

  4. Bea June 27, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    I like the idea of a matte highlighter so I think this would good for me 🙂 I think you’re right with the applicator tho. The brush is… unusual

    Passion Blog | BCfactor.blogspot.com

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:42 pm

      I’m sure you’d love it 🙂 xx

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:42 pm

      Let me know if you do! xx

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:42 pm

      YES definitely up your street then 🙂 xx

  5. Jenny June 27, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    It looks pretty and a nice subtle highlight! I prefer intense highlights but I can see how this would be nice.

    JennyLovesBeauty♥

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:43 pm

      It is lovely 🙂 xx

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:43 pm

      Ahh I really need to get my hands on Sunbeam! xx

  6. Beautylymin June 28, 2016 / 8:31 am

    I love High Beam & Moon Beam (now discontinued) and have had my eye on this so might pick it up & give it a go! xx

    Beautylymin

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:44 pm

      I’m sure you’d love it! xx

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:44 pm

      Glad you love it too 🙂 maybe they’ll change the applicator, but it’s not enough to put me off it thankfully! xx

  7. Ela June 28, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    I haven’t tried any matte highlighter or any liquid ones. I prefer powder ones more, but I want to try sunbeam, I heard a lot about it! x

    Ela BellaWorld

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      I want to try it too, next on the list 🙂 xx

  8. Jessica June 28, 2016 / 4:22 pm

    This looks GORGE! I love extreme highlighters, but don’t seem to have any that would be good for day to day use – as you mentioned above most are pretty intense. This sounds perfect for day to day wear, might have to pick it up when i’m going to the airport next month! xo

    Jessica Ann ♥

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Definitely try to grab it at Duty Free! xx

  9. Amy July 6, 2016 / 9:33 am

    I love High Beam from Benefit! I don’t wear it so much now as I prefer cream or powder highlighter but it’s still a fantastic product which I find myself going back to.

    I love the look of this warmer tone!

    fourcatsplusus.co.uk | Amy x

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      I really want to try more of the Benefit highlighters now 🙂 xx

  10. Lauren July 7, 2016 / 9:13 am

    I love high beam but only use it when I’m going out because of the shimmer, this might be a good alternative for during the day
    Lauren
    livinginaboxx | bloglovin

    • Claire July 14, 2016 / 1:45 pm

      Definitely, I think you’d love it 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *